Reorganisation 2021-23

Local Government Reorganisation 2021

In October 2020 the UK Government conducted a consultation into local government reorganisation in three areas of England, including Cumbria.

The current local authorities were each invited to present their proposals.  This  resulted in 4 different submissions, 3 from groups of district authorities plus one from Cumbria County Council.

On 21 July 2021 the then Secretary of State for Local Government made a Statement to the House outlining the chosen solution.  In essence both Cumbria County Council and the six District Councils are to be abolished, to be replaced by two Unitary Councils: East Cumbria and West Cumbria.  East Cumbria will consist of the current district councils: Eden, South Lakeland, and Barrow.

The intention is that this new structure will be fully operational by 1 April 2023.  Transitional arrangements will include elections for these new authorities in May 2022.

This site uses cookies to give you a better service. We'll assume that you are OK with this.     OK     Alternatively you can find out more.